BIOGRAPHY

Jonathan-9-Color.jpeg
DagenaisJonathan.png
JO.png

Jonathan Dagenais (b. 1978) holds a Master’s degree in Conducting from McGill University and a Bachelor’s degree in Composition from the Université de Montréal.

 

In addition of being a renowned conductor and university/cegep/high school teacher, Mr. Dagenais enjoys an active career as a composer and arranger for wind orchestra. His works, which have been performed repeatedly by numerous Canadian university and high school ensembles, also appear on several professional recordings. His compositions are included in many North American concert band music festival syllabuses and are currently published worldwide by Alfred Music, Hafabra Music and Eighth Note Publications.

​Jonathan Dagenais is also a sought after conductor. He is the conductor and artistic director of the Orchestre à Vents Non Identifié (OVNI), a Montreal wind orchestra he co-founded in 2005. OVNI is an ensemble dedicated to collaborative and active listening, tone quality, refined interpretation as well as humour. Jonathan Dagenais is also the conductor of the Cercle Philharmonique de Saint-Jean-sur-Richelieu (CPSJ), a position he has held since September 2012. In September 2015, he was named conductor of the Orchestre de jeux vidéo - OJV (Montreal Video Game Orchestra), an ensemble dedicated to video game soundtracks. A longtime fan of video games and their music, this was a natural marriage of two of his passions. Most recently in 2019, he was appointed principal conductor of  the Ottawa Pops Orchestra (OPO).

 

Mr. Dagenais has been invited to adjudicate and/or give clinics at more than 25 North American music competitions and festivals. In 2017, he became the artistic director of Musicfest Quebec. Jonathan Dagenais is regularly hired as an orchestra, band and chamber music conductor in Canadian summer music camps. He has been a guest conductor for many North American honour bands including The National Youth Band of Canada (NYB) in 2013, the most prestigious honour band in the country. Well known educator and public speaker, he is a Yamaha Canada Master Artist Educator, a guest conductor and clinician for Twigg Musique and the Fédération des Harmonies and Quebec Symphony Orchestras (FHOSQ) in addition of being the artistic director of MusicFest Québec.

Mr. Dagenais is currently conducting the McGill Wind Orchestra and teaching Instrumental Conducting at McGill University (Schulich School of Music) and he teaches composition at the Sherbrooke University.

BIOGRAPHIE

Jonathan-9-Color.jpeg
DagenaisJonathan.png
JO.png

Jonathan Dagenais (né en 1978) est titulaire d’une maîtrise en direction d’orchestre de l’Université McGill et d’un baccalauréat en techniques d'écriture de l'Université de Montréal.
 
Chef d’orchestre renommé et enseignant aux niveaux universitaire, collégial et secondaire, M. Dagenais poursuit également une carrière de compositeur et arrangeur pour orchestre à vents. Ses œuvres ont été interprétées à maintes reprises par des ensembles universitaires et secondaires canadiens, elles figurent sur plusieurs enregistrements professionnels et certaines d’entre elles se retrouvent au répertoire des œuvres imposées de festivals de musique nord-américains. Ses compositions sont présentement éditées et publiées à travers le monde aux Éditions Alfred Music, Eighth Note Publications et Hafabra Music.
 
Jonathan Dagenais possède une carrière de direction très active. Depuis sa fondation en 2005, il est directeur musical et artistique de l’Orchestre à Vents Non Identifié (OVNI), une harmonie de concert montréalaise qu’il a co-fondé dédiée à l’écoute collective, au travail de sonorité orchestrale, à la sensibilité d'interprétation et à l’humour. Il dirige également le Cercle Philharmonique de Saint-Jean-sur-Richelieu (CPSJ) depuis septembre 2012 et l’Orchestre de Jeux Vidéos (OJV) depuis 2015, une formation montréalaise qui se consacre à l’interprétation de la musique tirée de bandes sonores de jeux vidéo. Étant lui-même, depuis longtemps, un grand fan de jeux vidéo et de la musique de ceux-ci, ce « mariage artistique » fut des plus naturels. Finalement, depuis 2019, il est le chef d’orchestre principal pour  le Ottawa Pops Orchestra (OPO).

 

M. Dagenais siège régulièrement en tant que juge-évaluateur et/ou clinicien dans plus de 25 festivals et compétitions musicales à travers l’Amérique du Nord. Depuis 2017, il est d’ailleurs le directeur artistique du MusicFest Québec. Il est également engagé annuellement comme chef d’orchestre lors de sessions estivales dans certains camps musicaux canadiens et comme chef invité pour plusieurs ensembles honorifiques nord-américains. Il a été sélectionné comme chef d’orchestre de l’édition 2013 de l’Harmonie Nationale des Jeunes du Canada, soit la plus prestigieuse harmonie honorifique au pays. Il est également chef d’orchestre partenaire et formateur en pédagogie musicale pour la compagnie Twigg Musique, Artiste Maître Éducateur pour la compagnie Yamaha Canada et formateur pour la Fédération des Harmonies et Orchestre Symphoniques du Québec (FHOSQ).

Il est actuellement chargé de cours au Schulich School of Music de l’Université McGill où il dirige le McGill Wind Orchestra en plus d’enseigner le cours Instrumental Conducting. Il est également chargé de cours à l’École de Musique de l’Université de Sherbrooke en composition.